Season 3, Episode 13: Farewell Olivia

 

Stolen from olivialim.com

Stolen from olivialim.com

 

(1-12-2016) There’s a reason why it took me so long to write the entry for this episode. Part of it was the fact that I wanted to bring the rest of the site up to speed, another part was honestly procrastination. However, the true reason is because when Olivia left, I honestly felt like a part of my life in Korea died. When we first met, I originally did not want to give her a chance. In the cutthroat world of English language radio in Korea, the show I was working on got abruptly cancelled. The new show I was moving to was just starting, and I wanted to protect my own… the talents that I had found and cultivated and brought in. I was successful in keeping most of my guests around, but they wanted to force Olivia on me with no extra budget. I devised an idea where she would appear once every two weeks and switch off with another weekly guest, but I was not happy about having to cut back on the other guest. So, yes, while it does seem our relationship got off on the wrong foot, a friendship began to blossom. Around the time when Christine and I started to seriously talk about starting this podcast, I ran it through several other people, and the most enthusiastic was Olivia. I may not have seen it at the beginning, but Olivia was probably the heart and soul of our podcast, even throughout its various changing formats. (In fact, after season 1, I thought it was over. I can almost guarantee that season 2 would never have happened without the enthusiastic encouragement of Olivia.) We grew closer over time and there was one episode where she yelled at me because I was being overly picky about how I wanted her to deliver a line (listen to the episode for a clip to hear her yelling). I might have seriously considered ending a friendship had it been anyone else that did that. But there was this unspoken bond that let me know we were still cool and she was just frustrated. Later she described it by saying that she felt like I was her brother. Wow… that’s deep. I don’t think I ever told her how much that meant to me. Growing up with 3 brothers, I never knew what it would be like to have a sister, but if it is anything like having Olivia around all the time, then it would have been awesome. Having this quirky fun-loving, fragile, non-gyopo-stereotypical gyopo girl in my life over the past few years has taught me a lot about myself, and those are the best friendships anyone can have.  So, even though it is a bit late… farewell Olivia, you will be dearly dearly missed.

 

-Eugene

 

 

Also included in this episode:

  • Blossom started as a permanent member of our team (at least until the end of season 3).
  • Discussion about former pop star Yoo Seung Jun asking forgiveness from Koreans for allegedly changing his citizenship more than 10 years ago to avoid military service
  • Part 2 of the discussion about English Language Radio with Chance Dorland of the Chance and Dan Do Korea Podcast. Chance introduced a new internet radio station called KoreaFM. The station can be found at koreafm.net
  • Ask Aaron and Olivia without Aaron (as he had his final appearance last episode)
    What will you miss most if/when you leave Korea?
  • Discussion with Olivia about her Korea Journey and Farewell

Some of the music in this episode came royalty free. It is Music by Dan-O at DanoSongs.com

Leave a Reply

